Main menu:

7th Renfew & Inverclyde

The 7th Renfrew & Inverclyde Scouts were formed around 1910 in Wesleyan Methodist Church. Little is known about these early years of the Group.

In February 1944, the Group restarted in the Union Street Church, which later became the Union Church after the merger with Sir Michael Street Church.

The Cub Pack had Leaders such as Miss Jenny Guy, Miss Anne Sinclair, Miss Laura Lennox, Miss Winifred Wright (Mrs Harbison), Mrs Jean Allan and Mr Muir Connel.

Among the Troop Leaders were Mr Ross Kay, Mr George Thompson, Mr David Harbison, Mr John Allan and Mr Jim Rodger.

In 1977 – 1978, the Scouts closed followed by the Cubs when Miss J Meek was the Cub Leader.

We would like to hear from any former members who have information or photographs.

Click on to the image of a Troop photograph taken in 1970 and view a selection of old photogragphs provided my David Harbison.

7th Renfrewshire Troop.jpg


Comment from Douglas Crumlish
Time April 25, 2007 at 2:25 pm

I was in 7th Renfrewshire as Cub and Scout from 1959 till 1969 when I moved to 5th Venture Scouts. I do believe I have some photographs of patrols at camp.

Comment from David Harbison
Time June 2, 2007 at 3:33 pm

I have information regarding the 7th Renfrewshire from memory of Winifred Wright (former cubmaster now Winifred Harbison) and myself. I have various photos that might be of use.I could send this information by. e.mail. My feeble computer skills don\’yt extend much beyond that.

Write a comment