Main menu:

75th Renfrew & Inverclyde

The 75th Renfrew & Inverclyde Scout Group was first registered as a Sea Scout Group in 1943 and met in Ladyburn School. The Leaders were E. Salmon, D Yell and T Yandell. After a few years, the meeting place was changed to the Finnart School where the Sea Scout Group lapsed in 1950.

In 1958, the Group was restarted in the Old West Kirk with initially a Cub Pack being formed under the leadership of Miss Anne Crabbe. The Scout Troop was restarted in 1960 under the Leadership of Ian Grant. The revived Group flourished and grew in strength. Other early Leaders were – Victor Clark (G.S.L.), Margaret King (Bell) and Elsa Robertson (Buchanan). Phil Lee became the Scout Leader in 1966.

In the 1970’s, Campbell Cairns took over as Scout Leader followed by Alistair Wright in the early 80’s.

In the mid 70’s, Anne Whiteford began what has become a career in Scouting. She was a Cub Leader for a number of years before moving to Glasgow where she became the Cub Leader of the 1st Glasgow Scout Group.

Her interest in Scouting was such that she gave up a successful career in Microbiology to be employed full time in Scouting. In 1990, she xcommenced worked at Gilwell Park in the Programme & Development Dept.

She moved to Geneva in 2001, for a post with the World Scout Bureau.
In this year, 2007, she has been appointed as the Executive Director of Education, Research & Development at the World Scout Bureau.

The Group closed in 1985.

We would like to hear from anyone who can supply further information or material.

Below is a photograph of the Group taken around 1960. Click on it to see a selection of other photographs.



Comment from JimBell
Time May 23, 2007 at 10:43 pm

ronald anderson andrew morrison donald morrison derick morris margaret king(bell) elsa robertson(buchanan) victor clark i know all the faces but the names have escaped me please help me to fill in the names thanks margaret bell

Comment from Donald Adey
Time November 13, 2009 at 10:55 pm

In the 1970’s the Troop was restarted by Donald Adey & Campbell Cairns. Donald was Scout Leader, followed by Campbell, when Donald moved to become ADC (Scouts) in Mid Dumbarton district.

Comment from Harry Lee
Time March 5, 2010 at 10:14 am

.pg F has District Commissioner James J Swan in the centre.

The ony other person I regonise in any picture is Victor Clark our GSM.
My father was Fil Lee our scoutmaster, it is spelled thus because it was his middle name of Filmer that was abbreviated.

I was a member of this troop between 1960 and 1966 and reached the dizzy heights of obtaining the then Scout Cords award.

I do not know if it is still there but the Hut that was built adjacent to thw Old West Church Hall which was built for the Scouts and Guides had a time capsule put under the floor when it was built. I cannot remember fully what was in it but I do know it had a copy of the Greenock Telegraph of the time and the names of the members of the troop who did the main part of the building works.

As you know you can always remeber where you were when somthing historical happened. Well for me it was when J. F. Kennedy was assassinated. I was at our scout meeting waiting for our Amercian lads to turn up to gauge their reaction to the events that unfolded over the previous few days. We had several Americans including Chris Thomson and Perry Bowers among our number who had fathers in the American navy based in the Holy Loch.

Write a comment